Delphi FMX Chess Game

I wrote this Cross-Platform game in Delphi/FMX about 6 months ago, took about 3 weeks to build. After 15 years in .NET I needed proof Delphi was still relevant. Will Elaborate soon, really enjoyed the process. As I mentioned in a previous post, FMX is component based, it was so simple to add inner glow effects like you can see on the highlighted piece and movement options, and the outer glow on the piece representing the player turn in the bottom right hand corner. Delphi is awesome!

No automatic alt text available.

9 thoughts on “Delphi FMX Chess Game

    1. Hi Angelo, thanks for your comment. I’m in the middle of rewriting it, the database which the AI depends upon grew to 4GB. Splitting it into client/server, and targeting mobile. Will post an update here soon with access to the new code base.

      Like

  1. Bonjour, j’ai une représentation 3D d’un jeu d’échec en FMX Berlin si vous le souhaitez nous pouvons fusionner les sources.
    Hello, I have a 3D representation of a chess game in FMX Berlin if you wish we can merge sources.
    Alain Weber -Paris France

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Alain, thank you for your comment and kind proposal to work together. I’m too busy at the moment with my job, and I’m also half-way through moving my Chess Application to client/server (I want to test FMX on mobile, and I’m learning the Delphi way of doing things – devouring Nick Hodges books atm). But perhaps in a few of months we could discuss? In the meantime, I would be very interested to see what you have done. Do you have a screenshot you can link to? I’m quite new to FMX and appreciate seeing what people are doing with it.

      Like

    1. Thanks Paulo,

      I wrote it as fast as possible, the AI isn’t that smart atm.

      After I saw the Delphi BootCamp videos I wanted to take FMX for a test-drive, so I built this game.

      I enjoyed the exercise so much, I’ve decided to use FMX for a mobile game I have in mind.

      Right now, I’m busy trying to catch up with the community – best practices, idioms, Spring4D etc.

      Absolutely love programming in Delphi.

      Like

Leave a Reply

